Voting is now open for the Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2013

Online voting is now open for the ninth Parliamentary Jazz Awards, which will take place at the House of Commons Terrace Pavilion on Wednesday 8 May 2013. PPL has been supporting the event since 2005.

The final deadline for entries was 12pm midday on Monday 4 February 2012.

The Parliamentary Jazz Awards are organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG) and supported by PPL in conjunction with Jazz Services, Jazz UK, Jazzwise, and the Jazz Section of the Musicians' Union.

The nine categories for the Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2013 are:

  • Jazz Musician of the Year
  • Jazz Ensemble of the Year
  • Live Jazz Award (including venues, promoters, festivals and jazz clubs)
  • Jazz Journalist of the Year
  • Jazz CD of the Year (released in 2012 by a UK band or musicians)
  • Jazz Broadcaster of the Year
  • Jazz Publication of the Year (including magazines, blogs, listings & books)
  • Jazz Education Award (to an educator or project for raising the standard of jazz education in the UK)
  • Services to Jazz Award (to a living person for their outstanding contribution to Jazz in the UK)

APPJAG has over 100 members from the House of Commons and House of Lords, across all political parties. Its aim is to encourage a wider and deeper enjoyment of jazz, to increase Parliamentarians understanding of the jazz industry and issues surrounding it, to promote jazz as a musical form, and to raise its profile inside and outside Parliament.